How To Write A Better Booklet – One That Sells

It never ceases to amaze me just how many dull reads there are on the market.  I was recently browsing amazon, searching for a good title, and I ended up leaving the site empty handed.  Nothing interested me.

It wasn’t that I wasn’t interested in the subject matter.  I was.  That was why I was there in the first place.  But after spending several minutes on the site browsing this title and then that one, not a single one piqued my interest enough to get me to buy.  

I should tell you at this point that I don’t read fiction.  I’m purely a non-fiction reader.  But, even non-fiction can be written an a way that is both concise and interesting.  In fact, that is how it should be written.

Booklets are concise.  They have to be because there aren’t enough pages for much elaboration.  And that’s the whole point.  Most people today want information and they want it now.  They don’t want to wade through tons of information to find the few nuggets they need.  When you write a booklet, concise automatically comes with the territory.

Interesting, however, is another matter.  Just because a booklet is concise doesn’t mean it will also be interesting to read.  A perfect example of this is the tax booklet you can get from your local library at tax time.  It’s a necessity yes, but interesting?  I think not.

Your booklet should be interesting to your reader from the moment they read the title on the front cover until they finish the last page.  And, if the title doesn’t grab their attention immediately they’ll never make it to the last page.

So, how do you write a better booklet?  Write to your reader, not at them.  Write as if you’re talking with your best friend, trying to explain something to them.  Use words your audience will understand and that will resonate with them.  It’s ok to spice up your manuscript with descriptive words, but don’t over-do it.  Have a little fun with your manuscript, but don’t get too cute or you could lose your readers.  Your booklet should, first and foremost, be informative.  But, it should also be a pleasing read.

Creating a booklet manuscript that is filled with golden nuggets, and writing those nuggets in a way that will spark the reader’s interest and make them want to read further will help you get those booklets sold!

To your riches!

Kim Hillman

PS:  For more information on how you can make money writing booklets, get my free e-course, “12 Ways A Booklet Can Turn Your Writing Into Cash,” here!

Check out my e-book, “Publish Outside The Box” here.

Follow me on FACEBOOK and TWITTER!

Leave a Reply

