How To Get Unstuck, Resolve Your Issues And Move Forward In Your Booklet Adventure

Today I happened to come across a quote from the President and CEO of Yahoo.  She said, “Get in over your head.”  She’s right.

Back when I created my first booklet I was both excited and terrified.  I was excited about how this booklet would change my life, and I was terrified of how this booklet would change my life.  And an even more terrifying thought was what if nothing happened?  What if nobody liked the booklet and it flopped?

At the time I felt like I had gotten into something that I wasn’t quite prepared for.  I was in over my head and it scared me but, it also gave me the motivation I needed to get to the next stage in my booklet adventure.  There’s nothing like 1,000 booklets staring you in the face to get reality to set in fast.  You’re either going to sell those booklets or your going to lose your investment.

You’re never going to be fully prepared for everything you attempt in life.  You do the best you can to get ready, but at some point you have to start.  You have to take action.  Once you do it can scare you, but that kind of fear is also exhilerating.  It’s the kind of fear that causes you to say, “What have I done?  How am I going to deal with this?  What am I going to do now?”  And once you answer that question, you’ve taken the next step – a step you would not have taken without that fear to move you forward.

Getting in over your head will cause you and your business to grow.  It will give you new goals to strive for and new levels to achieve.  If you never make the leap or jump in with both feet you won’t go anywhere.  You’ll stay stuck in the same place with the same issue(s), and they will never get resolved.

Whatever you’re faced with in your booklet adventure, it’s time to move forward.  Whether it’s writing your first manuscript, making your first sale or widening your market reach just get out there and do it.  One thing leads to the next, and if you feel like you’re in over your head remember that’s a good thing!

To your riches!

Kim Hillman

PS:  Have you heard about my free ecourse, “12 Ways A Booklet Can Turn Your Writing Into Cash!”  Get it here now!

Get my ebook, “Publish Outside The Box” here!

And please friend me on FACEBOOK and TWITTER!

2 responses to “How To Get Unstuck, Resolve Your Issues And Move Forward In Your Booklet Adventure

  1. Hi Kim! So with your 1,000 booklets staring at you, how did you move them? What did you do to sell those booklets – I would *love* to know! 🙂

    • Hi Erin!

      I’ve sold my booklets in a variety of ways from selling to large organizations to selling to individuals online. The ways I’ve sold my booklets as well as a few other ideas are all listed in my free ecourse, “12 Ways A Booklet Can Turn Your Writing Into Cash” which I believe you took. But, today I wouldn’t print and then sell. Today I would sell and then print, if printing is necessary at all. It’s much easier to sell first than it is to print first and then try to move all those booklets! I made that mistake once, and only once, with my very first booklet. That’s why I said reality hits you when you see all those printed copies – copies you paid cash for out of your own pocket. That’s a much tougher road than letting someone else pay you up front for copies that haven’t even been printed yet!

Leave a Reply

