The Truth About Self Publishing That Publishers Won’t Tell You

It seems that books and blogs about self publishing exist for the sole purpose of taking something simple and making it complicated.  They will tell you that your manuscript must conform to this platform or that one, that it must be a certain length, written in a certain style, that you absolutely must write several drafts of your entire manuscript before it will be good enough to publish, and on and on.

I’d like to set the record straight.  Publishing does NOT have to be complicated, unless you want it to be.  

If you’re planning to write a novel and publish it through a traditional publisher, possibly using an agent to do so, it is a complicated and lengthy process – no doubt about it.  But, even that has been done by many writers.

However, self publishing isn’t nearly so complicated as the publishers and writers of self publishing books and other media would have you believe.  In fact, it can be quite simple, even easy.

First of all, let’s start with the meaning of the word publish.  The word publish means to make something public.  This blog post is published.  Every time I write a new post I hit a button that says “publish,” and voila!  My words are published, available for all to see.  Easy!

I could, if I wanted to, take many or even all of my posts and compile them into a manuscript.  I could then self publish that manuscript through a variety of means online or off.  All of this would be my decision, of my own doing, and with no waiting involved.  All that would be needed would be the decision and action to make it happen.

I wrote my third booklet in three days.  THREE DAYS!  I wrote only one draft, correcting errors as I went along.  I proofread it myself a couple of times.  I had a cover designed and I had the booklet printed.  And then I put it on the market.  That was it.  It was all very straight forward and easy.

Granted, my method wasn’t the mainstream way of publishing.  But, it worked!  My information got to my market, and I received an offer for 600,000 copies.  Several industry hot shots (industry related to my booklet’s subject) told me my booklet was the best thing they had seen on the subject, and many of them placed orders too.

Now I’ll share a secret with you.  I’m no more a whiz kid at writing than you are.  Heck, you might even be a better writer than I am!  And, when I started my booklet adventure I was as green as grass when it came to publishing.  But, my naivete paid off, because had I read any of the books on the subject I would have probably quit before I started.  It would have seemed too complicated, too confusing and too hard.

Contrary to popular thinking among industry big-wigs, self publishing is not complicated or difficult.  And booklet publishing is even easier.  You have options!  Just take it one step at a time and you’ll get to the finish line!

To your riches!

Kim Hillman

PS:  Check out my free e-course, “12 Ways A Booklet Can Turn Your Writing Into Cash!”  Get it now!  Click here!

Also, you can follow me on FACEBOOK and TWITTER!

Leave a Reply

