I’m Baaaaaaaaaaack!!!

Hey everyone!

After my very LOOOOOOOOOOONG absence, I’m finally back!  And, I have so much to share with you!

First of all, I want to tell you that while I’ve been recuperating I’ve been working behind the scenes.  Soon I will have a new website where you’ll find this blog and my related products!  Won’t that be nice to have everything you need right there at your fingertips all in once place?  Yeah, I thought you’d like that!  So, please be sure to leave me your comments or drop me an email and let me know what you’re working on and what you need help with.  What are your frustrations?  Your challenges?  Your fears?  What keeps you up at night?  Write to me and I’ll address the issues in the form of blog posts, articles and products to help you succeed!

Next I want to say thank you to all of you who sent me your prayers and well wishes.  I so appreciated all of your kind thoughts and words.  For those of you who asked about my condition, I had six hernias which had to be corrected.  Unfortunately, there was no doctor local to me who was willing to correct my condition.  They all wanted to take the easy way out – remove a few things and leave the rest.  That was unacceptable to me, and I searched until I found a fantastic doctor who was willing to do what needed to be done.  He put everything back where it belongs and removed nothing!

In a strange way, this relates to what I want to tell you about today.  Sometimes, you have to search for just the right person to do the job, and often that’s not the person or vendor with the cheapest price.  Having a cheaper price does little for you when that person or vendor drops the ball and doesn’t get the work done.

This has been my experience with the printing industry.  Printers are a dime a dozen, but few of them truly shine.  I had a printer two years ago who gave me a very good price on each of my projects.  In fact, he would often surprise me by throwing in a few extra copies.  But, getting quotes from him for projects was difficult to say the least.  I’d contact him for a quote, and two days later I still wouldn’t hear from him.  Finally I’d email him or call him and he’d tell me how busy he was, that he was sorry, and he’d get that quote right out to me.  Maybe I would get that quote later in the day, and maybe I wouldn’t.

To make matters worse, my designer worked in the same office.  He was even worse than the printer was!  Not only would the designer fail to give me a timely quote, he never got my projects done on time.  I was constantly having to prod him along by emailing, calling, and going into the office.

The cheaper price that I received from both the printer and the designer wasn’t worth it.  I felt that they always put my projects on hold in favor of other ones they felt were for more important clients.  That may or may not be true, but what else could I think?  Wasn’t my money just as good as anyone else’s?  Why the hold up?  Their excuse was always the same – they were busy.  Busy is good for business, but shouldn’t it be first come first served?

I have since taken my business elsewhere.  It’s easy to get stuck in rut and stay with a bad vendor because of price or because they’ve done good work, even if it was late.  But, a bad vendor can end up costing you money.  It’s better to nip it in the bud.   And, when you get rid of a bad vendor and get a new one, you’ll often find the new one is better in many ways.  Bad vendors have bad habits.  That printer I no longer use not only couldn’t seem to give me a timely quote, but his quotes were sometimes way off the mark for projects I had given him before – projects that were identical.  And then, he would tell me that he hoped his quote was ok.  It’s not up to me to tell a vendor how to price their services.  They should know their business well enough to price their services competitively.  If they don’t, they don’t deserve my business and you shouldn’t give them yours either!  This vendor had a bad habit of being late, and another bad habit of taking quotes off the top of his head (or so it seemed!).

So, lesson for the week – give bad vendors the boot!  If you don’t it will cause a lag in your sales at the very least, and you’ll probably end up losing money.  And aren’t you in business to make money?

Until next week,

To your riches!

Kim Hillman

PS:  Don’t forget to leave your comments or email me!

2 responses to “I’m Baaaaaaaaaaack!!!

  1. I’m so glad you are back, as I’m sure So many others are..
    I hope you are doing well ! We have missed you!

    • Thanks Don! I’m doing great! It feels great to be all in one piece again – so to speak! LOL! Hey, if you haven’t done it yet, would you go and take the pole I have up on the blog? It’s 10 questions and won’t take long. I’m really trying to get a sense of what my readers want and need in terms of information and products. You’ll find the pole on the first page of the blog as a sticky note. Thanks so much and stay tuned because now that I’m back there’s no stopping me!

Leave a Reply

