The Truth About What Cheap Is Costing You

A few years ago I used to be a frequent guest of a local buffet.  The food was nothing great.  It was just ok.  The management was not friendly, and the silverware and dishes were never clean.  I used to take a plate from the stack and look it over, only to put it aside, take another and look it over, and put it aside, until finally I found a plate that was acceptable.  The same ritual was applied to the silverware.  So, why, you might ask, did I continue to eat there?  Because it was cheap.

The Real Cost Of Cheap

There is no shortage of restaurants in the town where I live.  But, this particular restaurant was a family place and offered all the food we could eat for a low price.  Since we were always short on cash, we relegated ourselves to eating at this restaurant as opposed to any of the others.  But while the cheap price may have been easier on our wallets, the atmosphere was damaging to our psyche.

You’ve probably heard the saying, “You’re known by the company you keep.”  It’s true.  People will judge you by whom you associate yourself with.  But, what most people don’t realize is that you will also judge yourself by the people you hang out with and the places you hang out in.  Every time I ate in that restaurant it reinforced my belief that I could not afford to eat elsewhere and that I and my family were not worthy of something better.  When I went into that restaurant, with it’s dirty dishes and uncaring management, and all the noise of a large crowd – crying babies, screaming children running wild, adults yelling at their kids while trying to have a conversation – it lowered my own self esteem, my opinion of myself, and my outlook for my future.  And I knew it.  Yet, I still continued to eat there because even though I felt myself being sucked down a black hole, I did not believe I could have something better.  This was it.

What’s Your Black Hole?

What about You?  Are you eating in restaurants that make you feel like you’re poor and can’t do any better?  Are you hanging out with people who don’t think they can do any better, and therefore they believe you can’t either?  Are you frequenting certain places that keep you from feeling good about yourself and your future?  If you are, it’s killing your psyche and sucking you down that same black hole that I once found myself in.  It will keep you from accomplishing your goals for your booklet business, and your life.

Breaking Free

One day, while eating at that restaurant, I decided I was tired of checking the silverware and plates, but still not wanting to actually leave the establishment I alerted a manager to the problem.  The manager made an excuse for the dirty dishes and did nothing to resolve the issue.  That’s when I realized that I needed to put one foot in front of the other and walk out the door, never to return.  And that’s exactly what I did.  And do you know what happened?  I suddenly felt liberated!  I started eating in better restaurants, with clean dishes and better service.  And then a whole new world opened up to me.  I began to believe in myself and what I could accomplish, and my perspective of myself changed.  This allowed me to move forward and create my booklet business.  It gave me the right frame of mind to be able to self publish my booklets and offer them to corporations, other businesses and individuals.

Upgrade

If you want to be rich, you need to act rich now.  Don’t wait for the money to come in because it doesn’t work that way.  This doesn’t mean that you should go out and blow all your money on five star restaurants every weekend, or that you should spend money you don’t have on fancy, expensive clothes to make you feel good.  It means you set a higher standard for yourself.  It means you don’t accept sub-par standards, and you set yourself above the status quo.  It means that instead of eating in a cheap dive, you upgrade yourself to something better.  Maybe not five stars, but three stars will do alot more for your psyche than one star.  And when you do upgrade, you’ll find yourself upgrading across the board, from your personal life to your business life.  It will all get better.

Treat yourself better.  Give yourself more than you have been.  When you do, you’ll find that a whole new world opens up for you just like it did for me.  You’ll believe in yourself and you’ll strive to accomplish great things.  Your attitude toward yourself and what you are capable of will change, and you’ll have a brighter outlook on your day, everyday.  This will make you a better writer, and a better business person.  You’ll have a new found confidence and it will show.  And suddenly, you’ll find that you’re not the same person you used to be.  You’ll be someone who attracts like-minded people to you, people who are confident and who are moving forward.  You’ll be one of them.   And the riches will follow.

To your riches,

Kim

PS: Like this post?  Please share it on del.ic.ious or StumbleUpon.  And don’t forget to click on one of the links at the top right of this page to subscribe so you never miss a single, important post!  Remember, it only takes one idea to start the riches flowing to you!

2 responses to “The Truth About What Cheap Is Costing You

  1. We have a standing joke about those kind of restaurants. Have you ever noticed that about 90% of the people that go to those all-you-can-eat places are…..how do I say this politely?….. a bit broad in the beam? So our joke is, if you go there, never go on a cloudy day. Why? More likely to have a storm blow up…. one bolt of lightning could cause a stampede of those cattle, and you don’t want to be in the middle of that!
    Seriously, save your money if you must and go someplace nicer less often.
    Okay Kim, when are you going to publish your blog as a book?

    • Yeah, I know what you mean about the people who eat in those places. But, you can eat healthy in those kinds of restaurants too. I used to load my place up with fresh fruit and greens, lots of veggies (not potatoes, but fresh veggies that weren’t laden with cream sauces and other bad ingredients), and meat. I skipped dessert and just had coffee. Then, after the meal I would do a half hour walk. So, you can maintain a healthy weight and eat in those places, but I still don’t recommend it. There are better places to eat – places that are much more healthy for your body and your self esteem!

      As for the book, thanks for the compliment, Larry, but you should know by now that book publishing just isn’t my thing! 🙂

      Kim

Leave a Reply

