Print Is Dead? I Don’t Think So

This morning while rummaging through my email in-box I clicked on an interesting link, which led to another link and so on.  You know how it goes.  Anyway, I learned that Jeff Gomez has recently revised his book, “Print Is Dead,” and the updated version will soon be available on Amazon.

Print Is Dead Is A Printed Book

I find the title of this book a little amusing since it is only available (to my knowledge) as a printed book.  And while I agree that we are living in a digital age and there is alot of information online that we can access, sifting through that information can be a daunting task.  Ever type a keyword into Google and have a multitude of pages come up, forcing you to search through more than one page to find what you need?  I sure have.  In fact, just recently I spent an entire day searching deep into Google to pull out some information I needed.  If a book had been available on my subject I would have gladly paid the cover price so I could flip through the book.  It would have saved me a tremendous amount of time.

There Is Plenty Of Poorly Created Material Online

Here’s another thought for consideration.  Anyone and everyone can write and publish online in the form of a blog or website.  But, not everyone is good at it.  Have you read some of the material that’s out there?  I’m not talking about the content.  We all have our preferences there.  I’m talking about the spelling and grammar mistakes.  Yeesh!  I find it very disappointing to have to sift through that kind of information to get to the good stuff.  If you can’t write a sentence properly, you have no business publishing anywhere without a good editor.  Not only does putting that kind of poorly created material on the web make you look unprofessional, but it gives me the impression that you slapped the information together with little thought, which makes me wonder if the content is in error.

Five Reasons I Like Printed Books And Believe They Are Here To Stay

With all of that said, here is my case for print.  First, I enjoy reading books.  Yes, I do read some online content, but it’s easier to find what I need in books.

Second, I enjoy the bookstore experience.  It’s fun to go to my local Borders or Barnes & Noble and spend an hour or two browsing, then find something that looks like a really good read, buying it, and reading the first chapter or two over a cup of coffee at the cafe.

Third, I admit it – I read in the bathroom.  If I didn’t, I may never get the chance to start a book let alone finish one.  It’s the one place where I can be alone with no other distractions.  I can’t imagine sitting there in front of a computer!  Nor can I see myself sitting there with Kindle in hand.

Fourth, I like to earmark pages and highlight content that is of interest to me.  I can’t do that with Kindle or my computer.

Fifth, books make great gifts.  Telling someone I just bought them another book for their Kindle just isn’t the same as giving a book I know will interest them as a nicely wrapped gift.

I must admit I haven’t read Jeff’s first edition of this book, but it looks interesting.  I’m going to see if my local library has a copy.   And that is yet another reason why I don’t think print is dead.  You can’t check out electronic books.  You wanna read?  You gotta pay.

I think both print and e-books will coexist for a long, long time.  As a booklet writer, it’s a good idea to do both.

What are your thoughts on this issue?

To your riches!

Kim

PS:  Like this post?  Share is with a friend!  And don’t forget to click on one of the links at the top right of this page to subscribe so you never miss a single, important post!  Remember, you only need one great idea to get the riches flowing to you!

2 responses to “Print Is Dead? I Don’t Think So

  1. the Kindle reminds me of something i saw in an old school Star Trek episode; and it’s so thin!

Leave a Reply

