Are Other People’s Advice Keeping You Poor?

Have you ever accepted someone’s advice, only to later find out they were completely wrong?  Just about everybody has had this happen to them, but if you learned to be more careful of who you accept advice from, then you came away from the situation with something of value.

I’ve certainly had this happen to me.  In fact, back when I was new to publishing and marketing, I paid business advisers and consultants who took my money and gave me very little in return in the way of counsel or advice I could actually apply in my situation.  And since these people didn’t offer a money back guarantee, I lost the money I spent on their counsel.  This taught me to seek out better advisers and be more careful of who I give my money to.

Today I’m well educated in the industry, but I still find that certain people around me love to give advice.  Yesterday a family member emailed me to give me advice on how she thought my website should look.  She has a close friend who is a website designer, and she felt that my website should look more like the designs her friend creates.  She never mentioned sales and she knows nothing about marketing.  She just wanted to help me “pretty up” my website.  I just laughed because I used to think the same way she does, before I really understood sales and marketing.  I know she was only trying to help, but I also know that if I followed her advice I would lose hundreds of thousands of dollars in sales.

I’m sure you have family members who do the same thing.  They give you advice whether you’ve asked for it or not, and whether they really know what they’re talking about or not.  What they’re really giving you isn’t advice at all.  They’re giving you their opinion.  And while it’s ok to listen to what they have to say, you should be very careful before following what they tell you – unless they have a track record of success in the area they are giving you an opinion on.

Today I am a consultant for people like you who want to publish a booklet.  But, unlike the advisers I once had, I offer a money back guarantee.  If at the end of our time together you don’t feel my advice was helpful to you I will refund every penny you’ve paid.  Honestly, I couldn’t sleep at night knowing I kept your money and you were not happy with the service I provided.  I mean it.  I would not deserve to keep your money if you were not happy with my counsel or I was unable to help you.  Why do I do this when other consultants don’t?  Because I know how it is when you really need help, and these consultants take your money and then fail to help you.  I’ve been there, and I don’t think it’s fair.

If you’re anxious to get going on your booklet and you have some questions and would like to schedule a consult with me, the fee is $149.00 per 30 minutes.  I believe you’ll find that a bargain given the amount of information I can give you, and all the time and money I can save you as you venture forward.  No sense re-inventing the wheel, right?  You might as well learn from someone who has been there, done that, and bought the t-shirt – and now sells the t-shirt at a profit!  If this sounds good to you, please leave a comment here on the site and I’ll contact you to schedule you in.  Remember, you have nothing to lose with my money back guarantee.

In the meantime, if you’re going to take advice from someone, make sure they know what they’re talking about!  Otherwise, have a good laugh, tell them thanks for caring, and move on!

To your riches!

Kim

PS:  Like this post?  Share it with a friend!  And don’t forget to click on one of the links at the top right of this page to subscribe so you never miss a single, important post!  Just one idea could be worth thousands of dollars to you!

Leave a Reply

