Three Things You Must Do To Become A Successful Booklet Author With A Big, Fat Bank Account

There was a time when I, like most people, paid my bills and used the rest of my money for spending.  Spending for me at that time meant mostly basics – shoes for the children, gas for the car, food for the table.  If there was anything left after that, it was used for fun such as lunch out or a shopping trip.  This meant that I was broke until the next payday when the cycle would begin again.

The problem with this scenario is that you’re always a day late and a dollar short.  You never have the money to do what you need to in order to achieve your goals.  You can’t move forward and become a successful author because your lack of money always seems to hold you back.  Does this sound familiar to you?  If it does, then listen up because I’ve learned the secret to having a big, fat bank account and I’m about to reveal it to you!

There are three things you must do in order to change your money situation.

First, you must stop focusing on your lack of money and start focusing on the solution to the problem.  You need to focus on getting your booklets completed and sold rather than focusing on all the reasons why you can’t do it right now.

When I wrote and produced my first booklet I had zero money in which to do it with.  But, I was bound and determined to get it done.  Because I was so focused on that goal, I was able to find the money I needed to get that booklet done.  If I had focused on my lack of money rather than my goal, I wouldn’t be writing to you now.  I’d either be unemployed or I’d have some 9-5 job where I’d be miserable.

Second, you’ve got to stop looking at money as something you spend after the bills are paid.  You need to start looking at money as a resource and a tool.  Just as you wouldn’t waste water or any of our other natural resources, so you shouldn’t waste money.  Every dollar you spend should have a purpose.  It should be an investment in something.  A doctor visit or a trip to the vitamin store is an investment in your health.  Food for the table is an investment in your life and well being.  Paying down your bills is an investment because as you get those bills paid off, your future income will start to grow.  And getting your booklet produced is an investment in your business and your future.

The next time you want to spend money on something such as a latte from the coffee bar or an impulse item at the mall, ask yourself whether that money is being invested wisely.  If you truly have it and you want to splurge, fine.  But, if you’re barely making ends meet and you can’t come up with the few dollars you need to get your booklet produced, then that money would be better invested toward production for your booklet so you can move forward and make more money.

I know how tough this can be to do.  It’s easy to dismiss a latte as being just a few dollars,  or that impulse item from the mall because you deserve it.  But the people who are truly successful and rich watch every dollar that comes in and goes out – to the penny.  I’m not saying we should be misers, just wiser about how we use one of our “green” resources.  We need to use every cent we can to further our goals and create the future we want for ourselves.

The third and final thing you must do is pay yourself first.  I know you’ve heard this before and you’re probably thinking it can’t be done.  Trust me, it can.  When you get paid, you simply take an amount off the top and put it into a savings account (I call it a wealth account).  You can make it a percentage of what you earn, such as 20%, or you can just make it a dollar amount, such as $100.00.  If you do this faithfully you’ll find that you have money to invest in your booklet production as well as other things that further your goals and build your future.  And, amazingly, after taking that money off the top, you’ll probably find that once all the bills are paid, the children have shoes and clothing, and there is food on the table, you’ll still have a few extra dollars for that latte.

In the next few weeks I’ll be announcing my first product right here on this blog.  It will help you every step of the way in getting your booklet written and produced.  One of the best investments you can make is in your education and knowledge to help you achieve your goals.  Stay tuned!

To your riches!

Kim

PS:  Like this post?  Share it with a friend!  And don’t forget to click on one of the links at the top right of this page to subscribe so you never miss a single important post!

Leave a Reply

