Why I rejoiced Over This Rejection Letter

I received a letter in the mail a couple weeks ago from a non-profit corporation I’ve been negotiating with for several months.  They were interested in purchasing anywhere from 500 – 7,000 copies of my “Simple Tips & Recipes For Feeding The Gluten Free/Dairy Free Child” booklet.

The letter was typical of what I would have expected from any company rejecting my offer, though since this is a company I am personally involved with as member, I was surprised that I didn’t at least receive a phone call.  Still, that’s the way it is with any company, especially when it comes to rejecting your offer.  Nobody wants to tell you personally.  It’s easier to make it impersonal and do it in a letter or email.

What these people couldn’t have known, however, and what you might find shocking, is that I actually rejoiced over receiving this letter.  Why?  Because it meant I could cross this company off my list.  It meant I would no longer be wasting my time with them.  After talking with them for months, and one person having to ask another who had to ask their superior who had to take it to the board members for approval, I was glad to finally have some closure one way or the other.  And while I always prefer to make the sale, the fact is it won’t happen every time.  So, when I do get a no, I’m happy to know that my journey with that company has ended and I can spend more of my time with other companies who are interested or that I’m still courting.

In this case, this organization was not a good candidate for my booklet so I really wasn’t all that surprised that they decided not to make the purchase.  In fact, I WAS surprised when they contacted me wanting more information in the first place.

So, what’s the lesson in all of this?  Stick to your market.  If someone from outside your market approaches you for information, give it, but don’t count on a sale there.  It can happen.  You never know, so you should always take the chance.  But, don’t rely on it.

As for me, I’ve wasted no tears over the fact that this sale didn’t happen.  I’ve got too many other companies I’m dealing with to even care.  Once you get the money rolling in and you’re dealing with alot of customers, whether large companies or individuals, you won’t care about those who don’t want your product because you’ll have so many who do.

To your riches!

Kim

PS: Be sure to click one of the links at the top right of this page to subscribe so you never miss a single post!

2 responses to “Why I rejoiced Over This Rejection Letter

  1. Great attitude Kim! It’s a good example of how the decision was not directed at you personally (as many writers often take rejection). The booklet just wasn’t a good match for them.

    As long as you know all your ducks are in a row, there’s nothing wrong with being glad about saying “next!”

    Cheryl Pickett
    http://www.publishinganswers.com

  2. Thanks, Cheryl. If a company is going to tell me no, I would rather have them do it sooner than later. Time is our greatest asset, and we all have precious little of it. I prefer to spend my time courting those companies who want what I have to offer.

    It’s a fact that you will never be able to sell to everyone. So, the sooner those who are not going to buy let you know that, the better. Then, you can move on and spend your time courting better prospects.

Leave a Reply

