Are You Worried About The Cost Of Booklet Production?

Are you concerned about how you’re going to pay for your booklet’s  production?  If you haven’t written your booklet yet, you’re putting the cart before the horse.

It doesn’t cost you anything to come up with a great idea for a booklet.  In fact, if you’re reading this you probably already have a great idea.  Think of that idea as gold which needs to be mined.  The gold is there, but there is a process for obtaining it.

The first part of that process is writing your booklet.  Like your idea, writing won’t cost you a cent.  It won’t even cost you very much in time because you are not writing a full length book.   You can have your booklet manuscript finished in as little as 24 hours if you really want to and put your mind to it.  Or, maybe you’ll do it in three days like I did with my last title.  Or maybe you’ll spend two weeks on it.  But, it won’t take you very long.

Once the manuscript is finished, you’ll begin to see the gold shining in the mine.  You’ll be excited to get your manuscript produced and trust me, you’ll be able to do it.

While I don’t recommend you let your manuscript sit for a long period of time, waiting a couple of weeks or a month to move forward to the next step in the process won’t hurt.  If you need a little time to come up with funds for production that’s ok.  Once you start production, it will happen in steps anyway, giving you time in between each step to come up with the money you need for the next step until production is completed.

Worrying about how you will come up with the money won’t get your booklet done.  Remember, you’re not publishing a full length book, which would cost you thousands of dollars to produce.  You’re publishing a booklet, which will slash your publishing costs to a mere pittance.

Don’t let worry stop you dead in your tracks.  Move ahead with your great idea and write that manuscript!  Mine that gold!

To your riches!

Kim

PS: Click on one of the links at the top right of this page to subscribe to this blog so you never miss a single post!

8 responses to “Are You Worried About The Cost Of Booklet Production?

  1. Hi Kim. Thanks for the great posts. I wanted to share on this one that, while not everyone will be able to, I am fortunate right now to work at a 9 – 5 place that let me use their color machine to publish my first 100 booklets. It saved me a couple hundred bucks and all I had to do is ask. Of course, my booklet is special-needs related, so my company was happy to be associated with it. I just gave a couple people a “Special Thanks” at the front of the booklet. Sadly, marketing the booklet has been the hardest, and I’m down to my last 30 or so copies. Anyhow, thanks for the wonderful posts.

  2. Hello, Jon.

    Congratulations on getting your booklet finished! So many people never do. You wouldn’t believe the number of people who tell me they want to do a booklet, and they truly have a good idea for doing one, but they never bother to write it. So, I congratulate you on following through.

    How wonderful you were able to use your company’s printing equipment! It just goes to show what a little creative thinking can do for you!

    If you don’t mind sharing, what is your booklet about? What is the title? Since I am also publishing booklets in a special needs category, I am curious.

    As for the marketing, I know I haven’t covered much of that here. But, fear not, my friend! I’m working on a product that will solve your marketing problems! And I’ve got a plan that will not only help you sell your booklets, and sell them in droves, but you’ll receive the information you need on a regular basis to continue to make money from your booklet, and if you like, grow your business.

    This product is one of three new products I’ll have on the market soon. But, if you don’t want to wait and need help now, I’m available for consult by phone. My fee is $147.00 for 30 minutes, and I will give you whatever one on one help you need for your particular booklet and situation. Your satisfaction is guaranteed. If at the end of our time together you don’t feel you got your money’s worth, I’ll refund every cent you paid to me. Because if I am not of help to you, I don’t deserve to keep your money. It’s that simple. So, if you would like to take advantage of my offer, just let me know and we can set up a consulting appointment. If you would rather wait for my product to come out, that’s ok too.

    I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog. Keep reading and let other writers and wanna be writers know about it! The more people who know about it, the more helpful comments like yours the blog will receive.

    Much Success,

    Kim Hillman

  3. Him.. A newbie here… 2nd day today.. am really encouraged by reading your articles and blog here just read it a few mins ago… I’m thinking that I could use your service of at least 30 mins.. knowing all the short cuts and areas that I need to concentrate on and how to put things together will be well worth the price i’m thinking. Whatdoi, howdoi get started… Ron

  4. Hi Ron!

    Welcome to the blog! I’m glad you’ve been encouraged by it.

    I sent you an email regarding my consulting services. Starting a new booklet is always an exciting thing! I look forward to helping you with yours!

    Thanks for reading and please pass the word about this blog along to all your writer friends.

    All the best,

    Kim Hillman

  5. Hi Kim,

    The Title is: “Same Child, Different Day: One family’s experiences during the first year after a child’s autism diagnosis”.

    People in the “industry” who read it LOVE it and say they can see a benefit for other family’s – I was even potentially offered a speaking engagement and a radio interview; yet no one follows through. The most excited ones have even stopped replying to my emails and won’t return my calls. That’s frustrating because with two special-needs kids in the house (along with a regular 9-5), I don’t have all the time in the world to consider writing another if the first one didn’t take. And I can only stretch the generosity of my employer so far.

    As cash is tight right now (and I haven’t earned any business expenses yet), I’ll just wait for your new product to hit the market.

    In the meantime, keep posting and I’ll keep reading.

    ~Jon

  6. Jon,

    I can’t imagine how difficult it must be for you to have TWO special needs children. I only have one and that is like a full time job in itself.

    I understand your frustration and I promise you, I will address these issues in my product which will help you market your booklet.

    There are times when I think I am the only person on the planet who actually does what she says she will do. It seems nobody ever follows through. But, I’ve found ways to make the process tons easier, and I’ll be passing that information along in my products.

    Don’t give up, Jon. It sounds like you truly have something of value to offer. You just haven’t quite found the right market yet.

    Also, there may be ways you can enhance your booklet to make it more desirable. Have you offered any tips or resources in the booklet for readers? If you’re just telling your story, it’s a comfort. If you’re giving people a direction to go in, it’s a resource. Resources and information are more valuable than stories. That’s why I push the non-fiction angle on the blog much more than fiction. Non-fiction is more likely to make you money.

    I know your booklet is not really non-fiction, and I haven’t read it so I don’t know just what it offers to your audience, but if you haven’t provided any tips or resources, you might consider adding those in.

    I’m busting my backside trying to get these products done. In the meantime, I’ll do my best to keep the good stuff coming here on the blog!

    All my best to you and your family,

    Kim

  7. Kim,

    Thanks for your encouraging words. My booklet does provide information as well as anecdotes; that’s the unique hook I tried to create. Knowing that you would respect my rights, I would be happy to send a copy to you. I would not ask for an indepth critique as funding at this time is extremely limited. But a simple pass/fail would be very welcome (and I’m not blind to the benefits of networking).

    If you think you’d be interested in seeing a copy, please email me with a mailing address: jongilbert@rocketmail.com . No matter, thanks again for your encouragement — people like you (and the knowledge that there is a benefit to this booklet) keep me going.

    ~Jon

  8. Your welcome, Jon. That’s why my blog is here – to inspire and encourage you.

    I am extremely respectful of the rights of all authors as I am one myself and I understand what it takes to create a booklet or any other type of information product. So, no worries. I would never share your work with anyone.

    Instead of sending me your booklet now, wait until my product comes out. I’ll be offering a certificate for a free, written critique as part of the package. That would be far more valuable to you than a pass/fail comment, and it won’t cost you anything extra to get it!

    Keep going, Jon! It is readers of this blog like you who keep ME going! 🙂

    Much Success,

    Kim

Leave a Reply

