The Most Important Thing You Must Do With Your Manuscript

I’m excited today!  My 6th title is now in production.  I saw a preview of the booklet yesterday and I’m very pleased!  We ended up with a two color cover this time instead of full color, but it looks outstanding!  I’ll have the printed booklets in my hands on Friday – just in time to take them to a couple of meetings I’m attending next week.  I can’t wait to see the reaction to these because I know it’s going to be HUGE!

I spent about a week writing the manuscript for this booklet.  I worked mostly in the afternoons and evenings.  Now that it’s almost done, I’m thinking there were a few things I could have done a little better.  I’m happy with the booklet over all, but you know how it is.  You’re always your own worst critic.

No matter how much you write and revise your manuscript there will always be something else you can think of to change or add to make it better.  The most important thing to do is to get your manuscript finished.  If you constantly fret over it and change it and add to it or take away from it, you manuscript will never get done.  In fact, your booklet could die altogether because you’ll lose your steam – your enthusiasm for the project.

Don’t do sloppy work.  But, don’t wait until your manuscript is pristine to publish it.  It can never be pristine because you are a human being with imperfections.  Just do your best, and after looking it over a couple of times, maybe making a few revisions, then giving it a final proofreading and making a few last touch ups, let it go.  You’ve done your best.  It’s time to get it produced.

After production, you may find things in your text that need revisions.  That’s ok.  Those revisions can be made before your second printing and then you’ll have a newly revised edition to offer your marketplace.

Do your best and then let it go.  Get it out there.  Otherwise you may as well do nothing at all.

To your riches!

Kim

2 responses to “The Most Important Thing You Must Do With Your Manuscript

  1. Thank you for this helpful information. I am a writer of Children Stories and I just have one question. Are there any commercial publishing companies will to take a chance on a new writer?

  2. Hi.

    I’m not quite sure what you mean by “commercial” publishing companies. If you’re referring to the traditional publishing houses that accept your manuscript, pay you an advance, and publish your book and place it in bookstores, your chances of getting in as a new writer are extremely slim, but it does happen once in a blue moon.

    The only way to know whether a publisher will be interested in your stories would be to query them and/or send them your manuscript, depending on their guidelines.

    Personally, I wouldn’t bother. I’d publish the stories myself in a booklet and keep all the profits rather than give most of them to some publishing house.

    If you wanted to, you could publish a booklet and send copies of it to the publishers for their review. That way your work stands out from all the “typed” manuscripts, and you’ll have a proven track record of a salable product, which is something that will give you an advantage with any publisher. The booklet would be a taste of what you have to offer, and if they like it they can publish it into a book.

    Much success to you whichever way you decide to go.

    Kim

Leave a Reply

