Why One Little Email Had Me In A Panic

Well, today I can finally breathe a sigh of relief – for now.  If you’ve been following my posts, you know that I’ve had a licensing deal in the works for one of my booklets (Simple Tips & Recipes For Feeding The Gluten Free/Dairy Free Child) with a local hospital.  Last Monday, my contact at the hospital emailed me to say that they didn’t have enough money in their budget to to pay the license fee.

The tough thing with licensing is that every deal is different.  In this case, they wanted my files for their database so their nurses and counselors could access them for classes and teaching appointments, and they wanted to be able to print out copies for patients to take with them.  There is no other deal I know of like this one on the planet, and they wanted a price.  I tried to explain that price was something we could negotiate, but my contact didn’t seem to understand.  He just kept asking how much it cost.  So, I did my best to come up with what I felt was a fair price, given that they would have access to my material on an unlimited basis for a year, and be able to print out as many copies as they needed to during that time.  My biggest concern was that my price was too low, and I would be leaving money on the table.  But, that turned out not to be the case.

After I received the email from my potential client, I gave it some thought and emailed him back.  This would be the start of our negotiation to my mind, but I didn’t hear back from him all week.  This seemed strange, given that he had been so eager to communicate before a price was given, and I wondered if the price I gave him was all he could see now, and therefore he didn’t feel there was any reason to talk further.

On Friday, I called him on the phone.  He didn’t answer, so I left a message.  He didn’t return my call.  But, today I received an email from him.  We’re talking again.  I’m breathing again.  I still don’t know if the deal will go through, but at least now there’s hope and I know I haven’t been shut out of their mind as being too expensive for them.  I also feel they’ll do their best to come as close to the price I gave them as possible, now that they have a number in their head.

I’m a firm believer in getting what you’re worth, or what your material is worth in the marketplace.  But, when it comes to licensing deals, there’s no standard to follow.  So keep your fingers crossed for me on this one.  I’ll keep you posted.

Kim

Leave a Reply

